Georgia Emergency Medical Services Association

Log in

2021 EMS Awards Reception

May 3, 2021, 7 pm
Location: Peachtree Pointe, Lake Lanier, 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518 

For 2021, GEMSA will be hosting its annual awards reception on May 3, 2021 in conjunction with the 2021 GEMSA Directors & Leadership Conference.  

The 2020 top three award finalists in each category will be recognized, and the 2020 award winners will be announced.  Hor d'oeuvres will be provided. 

Cost is $25 per ticket to attend the reception.  (Tickets are not included with a conference registration.)

Note: Limited seating is available at this time due the pandemic.  Buy your tickets early. If more room becomes available, we will add more tickets as we are allowed.

Registration & Costs:

EMS Awards Reception: $25 per ticket

Complete your registration using the link on the right. Payments can be made online with your registration or mailed to the GEMSA office.

Please RSVP your attendance and submit payment by April 23, 2021.

Payment is due in advance. If payment is not received, your spot will be forfeited as there are a limited number of tickets available this year. 


  • Registration is now closed.

Due to space limitations for our event in 2021, the top three finalists in each category will be notified and receive a complimentary ticket to the Awards Reception on May 3.  The other nominees are welcome to attend the event, but they must purchase a ticket.


Dr. Joseph E. Simon Pediatric Award of Excellence
  • Kyla Baker, Alvin Norton, Thomas Harris, Michael Mullinax, Matthew Hill, Dean Grant
  • Stephanie Dupont
  • Shelley Fields and Chris Boyd
  • Micheal Garner
  • Zachary Linscott
  • Brian Panel, Tate Nichols, Cherish Barrett
  • John Singleton
Excellence in Emergency Cardiac Care
  • Jimmy Apple
  • Jackson County Emergency Services Cardiac Arrest Committee
  • Dr. J. Jeffrey Marshall
  • Jose Morales
  • Zane Pulliam and Doug Swift
  • James Rutmann and Ryan Estes
Tim Peebles Champion of Children Excellence and Advocacy Award
  • Joanne Southerland

Mary Beth Bowns Excellence in Trauma Care Award

  • Jacob Hall / Company 7
  • Henry County Fire Dept
  • Jhonattan Macedo-Everett and Heather McDaniel
  • Stephanie Reese
  • Craig Salters

Dr. Zeb L. Burrell, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

  • Gregory (Greg) Chapman
  • William Hatchett
  • David Newton
  • David Winkles
Charles B. Gillespie, MD, Distinguished Georgia E.M.S. Medical Director Award
  • Dr. Jim Augustine
  • Dr. John D. Knox
  • COL(Ret) John McManus MD, MBA, MCR, FACEP, FAAEM, FSEM
  • Dr. Sudha Reddy

Dr. John B. O’Neal, III EMS Pioneer Award

  • Vince Brogdon

Joe Lane Cox Excellence in EMS Award

  • Daniel Yeargin
Georgia EMS Director of the Year Award
  • James "Marty" Robinson
  • Erin Vickery

Georgia EMS Educator of the Year Award

  • Brandon Ashford
  • Rob Bozicevich
  • Marcus B. Crowe
  • Christopher Johnson
  • Stan Long & Gian Mignone
  • Quincy Miller
  • James "Jim" Ochoa Jr.
  • Stewart Smith
Georgia EMT of the Year Award
  • Daniel Durand
  • Patrick Gutierrez
  • Robert Ladoceur
  • Michael Smith
  • John Wright

Georgia Emergency Medical Service of the Year Award

  • Clayton County Fire & Emergency Services
  • DeKalb County Fire Rescue/EMS
  • Gold Cross EMS
  • Henry County Fire Department
  • South Georgia Medical Center Emergency Medical Services
  • West Point Fire Department

    Award Selection Committee

    • Ronnie Davis – Habersham County Emergency Services
    • Derrick Ogletree- Thomas County Emergency Services
    • Dee McCoy – Air Evac Lifeteam
    • Ashley Williams- Toombs-Montgomery EMS
    • Steve Folden – Fayette County Fire & Emergency Services

    The mission of the Georgia Emergency Medical Services Association is to advocate for the emergency medical provider, develop educational programs, liaison activities, provider benefit programs, and improvements to the Emergency Medical Service System in Georgia.

    Georgia EMS Association  |  386 River Point Drive  |  McDonough, GA 30252  | Contact us

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software