Georgia Emergency Medical Services Association

Log in

2020 EMS Day at the Capitol and EMS Awards Reception

TUESDAY, February 18, 2020
Capitol Building & GA Freight Depot, Atlanta, GA

Please RSVP your attendance below by February 11, 2020.
Also, payments for awards reception tickets are due by Feb. 11.

The Georgia EMS Association (GEMSA) cordially invites you to attend the 2020 EMS Day at the Capitol. The Association will host a meet and greet sponsored by Air Methods, Air Life Georgia on February 18, 2020. The event will be held at the State Capitol Room 123 between the hours of 7:30 am and 10:30 am.

The meet and greet will be a drop-in event and will provide an opportunity for our members to network with State elected officials. The House and Senate are both tentatively scheduled to convene, which will provide an opportunity for our members to observe the Legislative process.  There is no cost to attend, but please RSVP online below.

If you are not familiar with the legislative representation for your area go to:

Our legislative day will conclude with heavy hor d'oeuvres at our EMS Awards reception and awards presentation.  The 2019 EMS Award nominees will be recognized, and the 2019 award recipients will be announced. We received numerous award nominations for some very deserving EMS providers in our state in 2019, so we would like to recognize them and their achievements.  (Cost is $25 per ticket to attend the reception.) See more details below.

Schedule of Events - Feb. 18, 2020

GEMSA Legislative Day at the Capitol
State Capitol, 206 Washington St SW, Room 123, Atlanta, GA

7:30 AM - 10:30 AM: Meet & Greet with EMS Professionals, view the legislative session in progress; event sponsored by Air Methods/Air Life GA

10:30 AM - 5 PM: Spend the day at the Capitol, schedule appointments with legislators, network with EMS professionals, and be a voice for EMS

EMS Awards Reception
GA Freight Depot, 65 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr, Atlanta, GA

5:30 PM: Our legislative day will conclude with heavy hor d'oeuvres at our EMS Awards reception starting at 5:30 pm and awards recognition ceremony starting at 6 pm.  The 2019 EMS Award nominees will be recognized, and the 2019 award recipients will be announced.  (Cost is $25 per ticket to attend the reception.)

Registration & Costs:

GEMSA Legislative Day: No cost to attend, but please rsvp online
EMS Awards Reception: $25 per ticket

You can RSVP below for the legislative day only (no cost), the awards reception only ($25 per ticket) or both.

Payments can be made online with your registration or mailed to the GEMSA office.

Please RSVP your attendance and submit payment by February 11, 2020.


Additional event sponsors:


Dr. Joseph E. Simon Pediatric Award of Excellence
  • Thomas Rankins Jr & Erica Salters
  • Anthony Grimaldi, Laura Richardson, Cody King & Aldane Thomas
Tim Peebles Champion of Children Excellence and Advocacy Award
  • Chris Calhoun

Mary Beth Bowns Excellence in Trauma Care Award

  • Nate Harper and Elena Pope
  • Michael Jordan, Paul Birkinbine
  • Clayton Country Fire & Emergency Services
  • Melissa Donovan, Dana Stevenson, Margaret Brucker
  • West Point Fire Department "B" Shift/Battalion 1 Troup Co Fire/AMR/LifeSaver EMS Air-Evac 77

Dr. Zeb L. Burrell, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

  • Homer (Mike) Ellington
  • Kyle Powers
  • Chris Threlkeld
Charles B. Gillespie, MD, Distinguished Georgia E.M.S. Medical Director Award
  • Ralph Griffin, MD

Joe Lane Cox Excellence in EMS Award

  • Shelley Nichols
Georgia EMS Director of the Year Award
  • David Bauch
  • Jeff Denney
  • Christie Grice
Georgia EMS Educator of the Year Award
  • Brett Anderson
  • Lisa Birkinbine
  • Brandon Carey
  • Richard Ellis
  • Daniel Gill
  • Tom Kamplain
  • Stan Long
  • Vandora Steiner
Georgia EMT of the Year Award
  • Ken Bruce
  • Patrick Bullis
  • Corey Coker
  • Daniel Durand
  • Michelle Lynn
  • Kyle Powers
  • Dylan Shields
  • Mike Smith
Georgia Emergency Medical Service of the Year Award
  • American Medical Response
  • Community Ambulance
  • Henry County Fire Department
  • Jackson County EMS
  • Metro Atlanta Ambulance Service
Award Selection Committee
    • Vicki Hooks, Bryan County Emergency Services
    • Jason Lewis, Oglethorpe County EMS
    • Chad Matheny, Peachtree City Fire & Rescue
    • Tracie Naylor-Griffin, South Georgia EMS
    • Morris Andy Smith, Jr., Coffee Regional Medical Center

    The mission of the Georgia Emergency Medical Services Association is to advocate for the emergency medical provider, develop educational programs, liaison activities, provider benefit programs, and improvements to the Emergency Medical Service System in Georgia.

    Georgia EMS Association  |  386 River Point Drive  |  McDonough, GA 30252  | Contact us

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software